Daily Archives: July 5, 2011

Semi-Open Thread: Gettin’ Laid

In a lot of discussions in the comments of late, things have turned to the topic of gettin’ laid. There are some nasty memes about both genders — men are just looking for a warm hole to stick it in, … Continue reading

Posted in libido, noseriouslywhatabouttehmenz | Tagged , , | 451 Comments

“Shut Up, Rich Boy”: The Problem With “Privilege.”

I’m a feminist writer, but I don’t like to use the word “privilege” in my writing. Here’s why not: 1) It’s antagonistic. I know, I know, it’s not supposed to be.  Everyone is supposed to recognize their privilege and go … Continue reading

Posted in gender movements, language, noseriouslywhatabouttehmenz | Tagged | 388 Comments

Why I Don’t Use The Word Patriarchy

(And You Probably Shouldn’t Either) This post is an appeal to feminists, of a particular kind, a kind I support: feminists who want equality for all, who want to see the world improved for everyone, regardless of how many X … Continue reading

Posted in language, noseriouslywhatabouttehmenz | Tagged , | 154 Comments